Susan Wijffels wins the 2009 Priestley Medal of AMOS and M R Banks Medal

The Australian Meteorological & Oceanographic Society ( has informed Susan Wijffels that she has won the 2009 Priestley Medal of AMOS. This award is given to younger scientists for personal excellence in meteorological, oceanographic or climate research done mostly in Australia. The award is based largely on the quality of research publications and the initiation of significant new areas of research.

Susan was also awarded the 2009 M R Banks Medal of the Royal Society of Tasmania.

Congratulations, Susan, on receiving these medals.